Election candidates 1945-2019: Wales

The Party has an enviable record for contesting parliamentary elections in Wales. Until 1951, Wales was considered something of a mini party stronghold, returning four Liberal MPs. There were however many constituencies in the South Wales mining areas where the Liberals had been absent from the fight from as long ago as the 1920s. Something of a revival began during the 1970s and there were usually two or three Welsh MPs on the Liberal benches at Westminster until the debacle of 2015, which left the party with just one representative in the Commons. After the General Election of 2017 the Welsh party was left totally without representation at Westminster. The victory of Jane Dodds at Brecon & Radnor in mid 2019 seemed to bode well for the future but the seat was lost in the General Election in December of the same year.

By prior electoral agreement between the Liberal Democrats, the Green Party and Plaid Cymru, the Liberal Democrats did not nominate candidates in eight Welsh constituencies in the General Election of 2019, Arfon, Caerphilly, Carmarthen East and Dinefwr, Dwyfor Meirionnydd, Llanelli, Pontypridd,  Vale of Glamorgan and Ynys Mon.

Lionel King