Winston Churchill forms his all party coalition government

Liberal leader Sir Archibald Sinclair became Secretary of State for Air and other Liberals joining the government included – Harcourt Johnstone (Parliamentary Secretary to the Overseas Trade Department), Gwilym Lloyd George (Parliamentary Secretary to the Board of Trade) and Dingle Foot (Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Economic Warfare). Leader of the National Liberals, Sir John Simon, accepted a peerage and became Lord Chancellor. Lloyd George declined an invitation to join the government.