The Second Reform Act becomes law

Piloted through the House of Commons by Benjamin Disraeli following the failure of the Liberal Bill introduced by Russell and Gladstone in 1866. The Act was far more radical and wider in scope than the previous bill. It enfranchised all male householders and doubled the electorate to over 2 million. There was a limited redistribution of seats. Two boroughs Totnes and Great Yarmouth were disenfranchised and a number of boroughs were reduced from two seats to one including Bodmin, Chichester, Guildford, Lewes, Ripon and Windsor. A number of new boroughs were created including Burnley, Darlington, Hartlepool and Middlesbrough.