Gladstone becomes Prime Minister for the fourth and final time

His cabinet contained four members of Lord Palmerston’s last administration in 1865. Notable returnees to posts they held in the previous Liberal government of 1886 included Lord Herschell (Lord Chancellor). Lord Rosebery (Foreign Secretary), Sir William Harcourt (Chancellor of the Exchequer) and Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman (Secretary of State for War). New faces around the cabinet table who were to play major roles in the party in the coming years included H.H. Asquith (Home Secretary), Henry Fowler (President of the Local Government Board) and James Bryce (Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster).