136 ‘Coalition’ Liberals, led by Lloyd George, and 26 Liberals, led by Asquith, are returned in the famous ‘Coupon Election’ though Asquith himself was not. Lloyd George remained Prime Minister despite the fact the Coalition Conservatives outnumbered his own party, he would serve as Prime Minister until 1922 when the National Liberals secured just 53 seats – fewer than Asquith’s Liberals who secured 62. The 1918 election was the first held since 1910, the 1915 general election not being held due to the First World War.