Formation of the National Liberal Party

A meeting of 22 members of the Liberal parliamentary party agree to set up a new body to support the National Government. A resolution passed unanimously stated, ‘This meeting of Liberal Members resolves to form itself into a body to give firm support to the Prime Minister as the head of a National Government and for the purpose of fighting the General Election.’ Those attending the meeting included Sir John Simon, Walter Runciman, Godfrey Collins and Lesley Hore-Belisha. Following the meeting, Simon penned a note to Prime Minister Ramsay MacDonald, ‘We shall,’ Simon wrote ‘call ourselves Liberal Nationals.’