Lloyd George becomes Prime Minister

Following two days of discussion, David Lloyd George informs King George V that he is able to form an administration and kisses hands on his appointment as Prime Minister. Lloyd George made a number of innovations in forming his government, the most significant of which was the creation of a five-man war cabinet consisting of Lloyd George, Andrew Bonar Law, Lords Curzon and Milner and Arthur Henderson, leader of the Labour Party. The government was dominated by the Unionists partly because of the refusal of Asquith and many of his colleagues to serve under Lloyd George, however a number of Liberals did join the full cabinet including Christopher Addison (Munitions), H.A.L. Fisher (Education), Sir Albert Stanley (Board of Trade) and Lord Rhondda (Local Government Board).